Amazon Verified User Reviews

“The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence”

as of June 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars An Awe-Inspiring, Motivational Must Read
By Cheri Clay on March 2, 2017 Verified Purchase
“A culture of peace is more than the absence of conflict; it is a way of life that includes multiple levels of participation.”
Imagine a world where peace is the driving force. The possibilities are endless – no crime, conflict, hatred, violence or bullying. One will question that it can’t be possible. However, the only true answer lies within: “One person at a time”. I have to admit those words and this book has had a profound effect on me. Based on the teachings of Gandhi, Leona adds her personal thoughts and experiences and writes a creative masterpiece that will resonate the soul within its readers. Inspirational thoughts are added by Gandhi’s grandson, Arun and insight from a teen’s prospective with Leona’s son, Matthew and one will find true peace within themselves. Thought-provokingly inspiring sets one on the path of a world where peace is possible. Leona’s writing style is amazingly captivating, as her words free-flow across the page in engaging rhythm that makes one not want the book to end. We all have that desire for the violence to stop and live in peace and harmony and Leona’s book will show us how to be peacemakers. “The Evolving Peacemaker” is a must read for everyone regardless of religion, nationality or views. I highly recommend this must read for adults and teens and taught to our children.
“May we each feel inspired by the unconditional love of Spirit that dwells in us as we embark upon the journey of a lifetime, doing our part to lift the consciousness of our planet from a culture of violence to a culture of peace.”

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written
Chelsey McQuitty on March 1, 2017 Verified Purchase
I think books like this will quickly become a trend for me this year. The book is based on the teaching of Gandhi, who has been a constant inspiration in life, especially when I feel like I am powerless in the world. I really enjoyed the way the author took these teachings and added insight and perspective that really brought new light to the whole message.
While I was reading the book, I couldn’t help but feel a huge burden lift off of my shoulders. I prolonged the reading process because it was very relaxing and actually made me feel good about the day ahead of me.
Personally, I feel messages like this should be taught in schools because it helps cultivate joy and peace in a world of mayhem. Perhaps, spreading the message will bring peace to the future generation. All the same, I’d recommend this book for anyone looking to find calm in the midst of the storm.

5.0 out of 5 stars “Our quest for peace: It is an abstract, spiritual process of discovering who we are, why we are here, and how we can honor ourselves”
By Winston J. Phillips on March 3, 2017 Verified Purchase
This statement underlies all the principles delivered in this book which deals with violence and nonviolence a la Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King . Violence is defined as any physical and emotional hurt done to people and to the physical environment. There is much to think about as the author includes exploitative actions (people or resources); wasting food; tolerating poverty; and violence to self. She offers that if we as individuals wish to spread Peace in all the turmoil, wars; destruction in the world today, we should become an “Evolving Peacemaker”.
I had two questions - How? and “How long?”. Both Gandhi and Martin Luther King had a ‘cause celebre” to which they tied their message of nonviolence. What would I have on which to hang my peacemaker hat? I recalled a saying: “You can’t give (share) what you don’t have” and anticipated that I could not be a peacemaker to others without being knowledgeable of, and at peace with myself. I confirmed that there was much that I needed to know about myself and violence active or passive.
For this the author offers: “Self-knowledge deals with the process of awakening to deeper levels of our own consciousness, transforming our character weaknesses, and discovering more of our spiritual strengths and creative potential. It is not something we master in a day, a week, or even a year. However, the more we strive for deeper self-awareness, the better able we are to uncover deeply buried emotional issues that have clouded our self-perception and caused us to act out in defensive or angry ways. The book indicates that our quest for peace is an abstract, spiritual process of discovering who we are, why we are here, and how we can honor our relationship with all creation……. ‘ Focusing on becoming a peacemaker with us and with others is a process which may take even more than one lifetime.” While we grow, the book suggests a number of worldly activities that we may use to spread the idea of Peace, for which Education plays a huge role.
It is not surprising then that that the book is called the “Evolving” Peacemaker.
The book is well written and the issues deftly handled. The author uses a mix of Mahatma’s Gandhi’s teaching, along with teachings of his grandson, Arun Gandhi, and her own and her son’s experiences in principles underlying nonviolence and passive violence. I found that I tended to miss jewels floating just under the top of the stream and had to re-read. But the reading is easy. I found great insights in her discussions on Anger, and the role it plays in passive –aggressive violence we do to ourselves and to others. It’s for me a new perspective of seeing Anger as energy and that attempts to bury it just pushes it further down within ourselves from which it will at some tine explode. Anger seems to underlie most of our other actions/behavior and passive actions of violence to ourselves and to others.
I recommend that book be read more than once, but definitely against the background of all the carnage taking place in the world today. It would be an added task to ignore the impact this may have on the quest.

4.0 out of 5 stars Discerning Self Awareness
By BeautyFul Word on March 13, 2017 Verified Purchase
The Evolving Peacemaker is an interesting guide to changing a mindset. I liked that she explained that nonviolence is not being a doormat but choosing to respond peacefully and being unconfrontational. I think that is important in developing self-worth. I was truly inspired by the insight and thoughtfulness. I didn't know Gandhi had a grandson and thought it was pretty cool to meet someone related to such a popular and well known person. The author provides antecedotes from experiences in her own life and the stories of real people like her son and Willie Bermudez. Her son even wrote a few chapters as well.

The author caused me to truly think about my interactions with others and my own role in violence. I have always thought of violence as the physical things not considering the nonphysical/passive violence that include sarcastic remarks, gossip, insults and even self condemnation. There were so many nuggets of wisdom that I felt were valuable and astute. Self-acceptance is an ongoing battle because it is more than just acknowledge faults, its also realizing unrealistic self expectations. I wish more people were not so quick to anger and hold grudges. Every day, we hear of terrible tragedies where someone went off the edge on some small incident like being cut of on the road. Overall, good read for anyone who wants to become more self-aware and make positive changes in their lives.

5.0 out of 5 stars "Divine blueprints written in our souls"
By Brian Aird on June 10, 2017 Verified Purchase
The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence by Leona Evans is a meditative and spiritually stimulating writing that practically outlines the possibilities of embarking on a life-altering and changing journey.
With her foundational message being based upon the teachings and lifestyle of Mahatma Gandhi, this spiritual, potentially personal life changing and world changing teaching unfolds. The emphasis is on the term of "Satyagraha" which means the "pursuit of truth." This pursuit of truth reveals that we are far more alike than we think, we should strive to honor diversity within unity and we must recognize that in order to be forgiving we must let go of the anger within our own souls that poisons us.
In her writing, she clearly states that there are two basic forms of violence. One form of violence is the ongoing physical violence that screams at us through the news coverage both at the local, national and global levels. The other form of violence is passive violence that can be defined as "sarcastic humor, gossip, insults and inappropriate references to one's ethnicity, lifestyle or appearance." This passive violence is something we maybe guilty of or have experienced.
The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence is not a "pie in the sky" writing about ethereal love and harmony, but it is a riveting, well written and practical call to action; that action being a peacemaker in the world that we share with others. In Ghandi's words, "we must become the change we wish in the world."
By sharing from her own heart and experience, illustrating and referencing the teachings of Mahatma Gandhi and his grandson, the author compellingly calls the reader to pick up the mantle of being an evolving peacemaker.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide for Peacemaking
By Sky Rae on February 18, 2017 Verified Purchase
Evans’ The Evolving Peacemaker is a timely wake-up call for all of us. This is not simply a book about pacifism or non-violence. It is a book about a way of life that respects all life. It is a book that illuminates all the facets of our modern lives that contribute to violence towards others. We might pat our selves on the back for not engaging in violence ourselves, or supporting those who do, but do we actually consider the impact of all our decisions on the lives of our neighbors? As Evan writes, “Who would have thought…that wasting food or tolerating poverty are the worst forms of violence?” Whether you agree or disagree, she presents a thoughtful argument that all our actions and decisions impact not just ourselves but others around us as well – in ways that we aren’t even aware.
This books is really about creating a culture of peace, a culture that cultivates “respect, understanding, acceptance, and appreciation” of others. The book is as much a practical guide as a meditation and reflection on the nature of a non-violent existence. While I don’t share all of her religious preconceptions, she does a great job at revealing the commonalities of the great religious traditions of the world when it comes to peacemaking. Strongly Recommended

5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal changing and thought provoking
By Renee Spicuzza on March 6, 2017 Verified Purchase
Leona Evans’, “The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence,” is a book that many individuals in this world need to read and take in to account due to this society’s interactions. Evans uses Gandhi’s teachings as a basis for how individuals should act, using peaceful and nonviolent interactions to further push their agendas as something that needs to be at the forefront of society’s thoughts. I enjoyed the philosophy that Evan’s portrays because I think the best way to get a point out to mass audiences is that there is no anger or malice, only true commitment to a purpose, no matter what is thrown at you, even though I think it is horrible that if one were to fight back for their cause, the perception of that individual would be significantly changed. There were many thought provoking ideologies and I do question many of the ideals that I held previously, so if anything, at least this book will help you be able to question where you stand.

4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
By Mia C. on February 28, 2017 Verified Purchase
“The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence” is a book of more than two hundred pages written by Leona Evans, former Broadway actress, recording artist, and cabaret performer. She also holds a Master of Arts in Religious Studies and is a Unity Minister and motivational speaker. She knows and has experience in what she is describing in this book.
Any of us has had or is having problems with other people, at work, school, home… so it is not surprising that countries fight between them and there is almost no chance to stop it. We all should try to do our best and every single action counts. This is what the book talks about. What we can do to live peacefully together. Leona writes about Gandhi’s philosophy of non violence. Reading this book takes you to a trip to inner peace.
I liked how it is written and the message it gives. I would recommend reading it.



4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
By TitianaD on February 28, 2017 Verified Purchase
A peaceful world, a better future... this is one of the most wanted things that people try to achieve since ancient times. What is contradictory in all this is that, sometimes, we need to fight for it.
Choosing to carry this battles in a non-violent manner is the ideal way to do it. And since people, as individuals, are at the base of the society, they have the power to make this happen by changing themselves first, as individuals, becoming examples for the others.
The teaching and philosophy of Mahatma Gandhi was the inspiration of Leona Evans in writing this book. She added her personal experience in finding the inner peace, and develop the capacity to accept and respect the others.
'The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence' is an inspirational book, and I think that it can really change some readers' perspective of a better and peaceful world.

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and thoughtful
By Rachel Horon on March 19, 2017 Verified Purchase
The Evolving Peacekeeper is a thoughtful, inspirational book. It combines the teachings of Mahatma Gandhi, the lessons learned by his grandson Arun, and the reflections of Leona and Matthew Evans who apply them in these contemporary times. It points out how peace is a journey, not a destination. It also demonstrates many areas in how nonviolence is a commitment that starts with you. It has opened my eyes even more to how nonviolence affects my relationships with others even if I never act out with aggression. The book followed themes each chapter, but I also appreciated how it followed most events in chronological order with some flashbacks. It helps to see her progression. The format allows you to read through or focus on applying one new concept or personal revelation at a time. With the contributions by her son Matthew, I will likely share this book with my teenage son first.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Steward of Peace
By Kristen on June 21, 2017 Verified Purchase
What a beautiful book. I deeply enjoyed reading Evans writing style and outlook on the world. I especially enjoyed her insights into Gandhi. Unfortunately for me, prior to reading this book I did not know much about Gandhi and his teachings but Evans has ignited a new spark and interest in me! While I would start my day with a few pages from her book, so many of her lines would become mantras for my day ahead.
I think this is a book that the world desperately needs right now. When it seems like there is always something terrible on the news it is easy to feel overwhelmed. Personally, I often feel lost and unsure how to make a difference amongst all the chaos. Even if we think of ourselves as not contributing to the violence, reading this book will help you understand how to become a steward of peace in the world.

5.0 out of 5 stars Good read!
By fausto marmol on March 5, 2017 Verified Purchase
Long ago was a completely different person, this book made me remember who I used to be. Time and circumstances changed me. This book is perfect for people who want to live peacefully. Is inevitable to have differences with other people, but you have to begin to see the differences as a positive and not fight for it. I hope to use what I have learned in this book to live in peace with others and with myself.
I read this book slowly, because it made me think on the actions I do and how I react to others.

5.0 out of 5 stars Well-presented ambitious proposal for a ‘better world’
By John H. Manhold on February 22, 2017 Verified Purchase
The author opens with an explanation that the book is “based on the Gandhi philosophy of nonviolence and contains a set of principles and practices designed to guide us on a powerful journey of self-discovery and enlightenment. It begins with the premise that peace is not a one time achievement but a lifelong practice that starts with our willingness to “be the change we wish to see in our world””. She follows with the admonition that peace is much more than a task with a beginning and end. That it is an abstract spiritual process of discovering who we are, why we’re here, and how we can honor our relationship with all creation; that Peace is acquired through use of words instead of weapons; having respectful and ethical relations with those of other faiths, cultures, mores and other unique qualities; that it is most important to remember that in a win-lose system EVERYBODY loses; AND most importantly the person responsible to accomplish this feat is ME.
There follows a step by step procedure to attain this ME person and to gain its acceptance. One must begin with a search for the truth both introspectively and through education so that eventually the “art of self-acceptance” is attained. Along the way an understanding of Gandhi’s Satyagraha, or Sanskrit title for his Philosophy of Nonviolence must be absorbed along with understanding: “the many faces of passive violence”; existence of both overt and concealed anger; how to turn this emotion into a positive influence; obtain an enhanced ‘social and emotional intelligence’ so that eventually that ME will have “malice toward none”; project the “forgiving power of love”; ultimately “understanding our purpose” and pass this on “one person at a time” so that it eventually may become a universally overriding theme. If this can be accomplished, the world will come to respect all life, end discrimination, promote equal rights, ensure protection for children, eradicate poverty and illiteracy, save the environment and reduce inequality among nations. An epilogue summarizes the presentation and a set of questions offer the reader an opportunity to intensely review exactly what he/she has acquired and retained from the presentation. A sizable number of individuals are acknowledged and biographical data of the author and co-author are included followed by a suggested list of readings.
Discussion: This indeed is a most interesting and ambitious project set forth in a somewhat unusual manner. It is part ‘how-to’ and part memoir and/or autobiographical. A forward by the grandson of Mahatma Gandhi explains that the co-author came to him at the age of fifteen with a film proposal. Wondering what a fifteen-year-old would know of non-violence, he recalled the words of his grandfather: “If we are going to create peace in the world, we will have to begin with educating the children.” He discovered the lad to be “wise beyond his years” making a film that changed the life of his mother, the author and Unity minister Rev. Leona Evans who “has put into this book everything that Matthew put into his film-and more. This book will take humanity another step closer to peace and harmony in our world”. The film’s subject projected all-enveloping peace and gained recognition from the United Nations. Chapters in this book written by co-author Matthew, Leona’s son, are interspersed with those by the author whose words provide the volume’s main message. From Matthew’s words we gain an understanding of Gandhi’s remarks and understand the pertinent autobiographical material.
Conclusion: The author(s) have set forth a very ambitious proposal for establishing a far better world than the one in which we presently live and have done so in a quite clearly presented manner from which many will gain much. It may be exactly the ‘tonic’ required for the sick condition in which today’s world exists, even though ‘time appears to be running out’.

5.0 out of 5 stars the authors give us great insights into how each of us can learn to ...
By sharon mesker on December 23, 2016 Verified Purchase
This book is so timely right now with the tremendous challenges we face in our world today. Based on the teachings of Mahatma Gandhi, the authors give us great insights into how each of us can learn to experience more peace in our lives and therefore more peace in the world. It is beautifully written with the valuable information presented clearly and easily understood. It is an interesting read. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is seeking
a path towards more peace. Joy and love.

5.0 out of 5 stars "Each individual is a part of this beautiful mystery we call life"
By Margot Guadalupe on June 13, 2017 Verified Purchase
This wonderful book was made for those readers who are seeking peace and harmony to become a better human. I myself considered this book as a masterpiece because it showed me that violence could be even a "simple" action and that nowadays almost everything that surround us is somehow violent, so to me its main purpose is teach us how to deal with it. It helps the reader to find his/her way to peace according to Gandhi philosophy of nonviolence.
The author also brings some personal experiences to keep them as examples of life, she shows that you don't have to be angry if something bad happens to you because there is always a light in the darkness. I really enjoy reading this book because it also has helpful quotes related to the previous chapter. I am pretty sure this book will not let you down if you're looking for books that will teach you how to be a better person. I loved it and it deserves to be read more than once!!
4.0 out of 5 stars Peace and love inspires thought and contemplation.
By Jimmy ray on June 9, 2017 Verified Purchase
This book is based on the ideals of Gandhi. The teaching stress peace without harm or crime without hate or violence. In a perfect world everyone would get along and live in harmony. This is the ideals the book focus on. Very well written. The author uses quotes and thoughts of Gandhi and his grandson to express views and invoke thinking about the right way to live with others. Good book to read. Especially if you are going through a hard time.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Book that Addresses the Universal Call to Peace in a Unique Way
By Romuald Demo on February 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence by Leona Evans is a timely message for a world that is crippled by war and hatred. Watching today’s political landscape, one is forced to wonder where our world is heading to. The author understands that the journey towards peace in our world starts with our battle to conquer our conflicting emotions.
It’s a powerful reflection that combines the philosophy of Mahatma Gandhi and the author’s personal journey towards peace to deliver a message that everyone needs to hear: If you want to live in a peaceful world, you should learn to be a peacemaker. One can’t make peace with the world if one hasn’t conquered it for one’s self. The author understands that violence never solves a problem and having been a victim of violence, the message of this book comes across powerfully.
Apart from the message of this book, readers will enjoy the clear and clean prose. The writing is very accessible and it helps to carry the message eloquently to the heart of the reader. This is a book that everyone living in this time and space ought to read, because it addresses the universal call to create a convivial environment where others can live in peace.

5.0 out of 5 stars A few months ago I read somewhere that the worst animals in the history of the world were us ...
By Julius Z on February 21, 2017 Verified Purchase
A few months ago I read somewhere that the worst animals in the history of the world were us humans, all the wars and conflicts writing in our history and the consequences of it are because us couldn’t and still can’t get along with others. This book perfectly resembles every problem this world is facing right now; I’m not the kind of person who likes to pick sides in fights, I always believed the truth is the only way we can finally come in terms with each other, because no matter how harsh or cruel can it be, there’s no way to reach peace with lies or hiding facts. This book is perfectly written and has valuable and very accessible information about everything you need to know, let’s not make peace the only path everyone should walk, let it be the end of everyone’s path to find peace with others, and share our love and happiness, no matter if there are a million reasons you should cry and feel hopeless, there will always be another reason to smile and be happy.

5.0 out of 5 stars This book brought me Peace and Hope for NOW and our future. It's the best read you will have this year.
By T.L. Keefer on February 17, 2017 Verified Purchase
Wow, I bought this before Christmas and just now read it. I couldn't put it down. To call this beautiful work trans-formative, is an understatement. This is an important work based on years of teachings from Leona Evans and others. It's incredibly insightful, extremely timely for our country (and the world) right now. It literally gave me hope and helped me ground myself back into what's important. I didn't realize I was feeling so empty inside, now that I'm feeling hopeful again.
Evans shares a powerful analysis of the Gandhi teachings and the personal examples and stories are really helpful. This book should be on everyone's "read" list right now. It gives me so much hope. I would recommend this to any book club because it has very thought provoking questions at the end. It's the perfect gift and I wish more humans in our world were this insightful. Thank you so much Leona Evans and her son Matthew. What a powerful family they are!


4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting story with nonviolent teachings!
By mint tea on February 27, 2017 Verified Purchase
This book takes an interesting approach when discussing nonviolence, which ties in with the teachings of Gandhi. If you don’t know what his teachings are, they are explained in an easy to digest way. It is also sprinkled throughout with his words, as well as the words of his grandson, the latter of whom the authors have garnered a friendship with. It also describes violence as something that is a far broader concept than what you would traditionally think of, even discussing things like bullies and anger problems. The lessons are simple to take in and are thoughtful, especially since they are coming from people from various generations. I liked seeing the pictures and reading about young Matthew’s accomplishments. There is a lot to be said about someone that will be an example to their peers, especially when it isn’t an easy thing to do. Overall, this is an inspiring story that may evoke some hope in your life.

4.0 out of 5 stars A call for peace
By Robin Surface on February 28, 2017 Verified Purchase
This book is interesting in that it’s part memoir and part instruction manual for establishing a better world based upon the teachings of Gandhi.
As our world becomes more violent, it would seem this book’s philosophy is greatly needed and the authors show that the process begins with the individual. They also include a guide to show you how to attain this through the art of self-acceptance.
Another interesting concept explored is the various faces of violence, including passive violence, which can manifest as concealed anger at society, wasting food, tolerating poverty, etc.
The message throughout this book seems to be that change has to happen one person at a time, and that message is especially relevant today. It’s definitely a book you should check out if you’re traveling a path toward personal peace and joy.

4.0 out of 5 starsIf you think the world is turning chaotic, this is the book to read.
By quirru on February 26, 2017 Verified Purchase
The Evolving Peacemaker: by Leona Evans; Matthew J. Evans, it is a book that takes the philosophy of Mahatma Gandhi and mixed it with the author’s philosophy making a series of principles that being followed will result in enlightenment that comes from self-discovery. The book takes us on a journey through Gandhi beliefs of non-violence and passive violence as a way to stop violence and crises from the actual world, a way to learn in the inner you and that at the end we are all the same, just humans and that hate and division created by sick minds are going to end with the world. The book calls for introspection of each one of us, to create a better world. The book is well written and easy to read, it has a stable pace and makes you think about you, you inner you and the world we are living, like a reminder that everything is within us to do.

4.0 out of 5 stars It was informative and easy to read
By Richard Blomquist on February 24, 2017 Verified Purchase
It was informative and easy to read. It will be very useful for personal and group study, bringing out a way for peace.

5.0 out of 5 stars This book shows a wonderful way to do this and to do it now
By Suzanne Carter on March 6, 2017
This a book we all need at this time! I have known Leona Evans for over 30 years; she is a rare person who does indeed "walk the walk" and "talk the talk". Deep within every person, there is a desire to help others; we are wired to do this. The Evolving Peacemaker addresses this desire from many vantage points and empowers all who want to become a Peacemaker to find a way to fulfill this desire.. This book and it's message should be read by anyone who wants to do all that they can to bring peace to the earth. Leona teaches so clearly that in order to bring peace to the world, we must find it in our own heart and mind first. This book shows a wonderful way to do this and to do it now.
Finally, Leona's son, Matthew Evans adds a lot to this book and shows that he is not really following in his mother's footsteps, but is walking with her to bring peace to our world and he shows us at such a young age, how when one is empowered, they can become a Peacemaker no matter what their age.

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read!
By Denise Lucas on February 27, 2017
The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence written by Leona Evans with contributions from her son, Matthew J. Evans, is a wonderful read. I am very passionate about nonviolence movements and have read a lot about the effects of war and how we, as the human race, can put a stop to war and come together in peace. This book was well thought out and was a real joy to read. I loved how in depth the authors were in their views, and the views of those they were writing about, such as Mahatma Ghandi. I love that the authors really developed the main theme, of how to evolve as a peacemaker, and what each person can do to enlighten themselves. We must be the change we wish to see in the world. I already knew quite a bit about Gandhi’s teachings and his struggles following his beliefs, but I did learn a few new things throughout this book. I highly recommend this book to all, whether you know nothing about the nonviolence movement, or if you are well versed, you as the reader will take something away with you from reading this book.

4.0 out of 5 stars the author of this wonderful book, The Evolving Peacemaker
By R.R Parker on February 18, 2017
I am getting heavily into this genre of book, I.e, the self help and spiritual type of book and am thoroughly enjoying my journey. Whilst I have recently read books by Stuart Wilde, Aldous Huxley, James Allen etc, I have now read this book by Leona Evans, the author of this wonderful book, The Evolving Peacemaker: A Commitment to Nonviolence. This was an eye opening book in many ways and I am finding that this book has an important place on my bookshelf – whether virtual or otherwise! I loved this book and it has inspired me to make very important changes to my life. I have to admit that I have always been an angry person, but this book has teachings that I am working with to find my inner calm – I'm sure I have one! A well written book, with much practical advice, a must for peaceful modern living.

5.0 out of 5 starsA book of profound simplicity
By Amazon Customer on February 18, 2017
Having been a student of Leona's over the years and having watched her son, Matthew, grow into the fine adult he has become, I must admit to being a bit biased. However, apart from this, I would have found this book to be exceptional in its profound simplicity. They have captured Gandhi's philosophy in easy-to-understand words enhanced by their personal experiences. This is a book you will want to re-read and spend time meditating on what it means for each individual to stand for peace while surrounded in many instances by a violent world. This book will help whoever reads it to join the authors in becoming another evolving peacemaker.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, perfect timing for this generation
By Abba Schwartz on January 5, 2017
This book is very interesting and easy to understand, and makes these difficult topics of nonviolence practical and approachable. In our current political climate, this book is very appropriate. I think that classes or workshops on this book would be wonderful. I appreciated the way the book was formatted, as each chapter has the ability to stand on it's own.

5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom for our growth
By Amazon Customer on December 15, 2016
This is an important and inspiring work. It teaches us how to practice peace within ourselves and with others we know and don't know.

5.0 out of 5 stars Important book for the times
By louis l. silva on March 6, 2017
If you are troubled about these times, The Evolving Peacemaker is a MUST. It will give you peace, it will give you answers to a better outlook on life. I especially enjoyed the chapters on anger.

Follow us

© 2017 by Leona Evans
Proudly created with
Wix.com
 

Call

T: 805-459-1767 

Contact

cjk@msn.com

  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now